The mission of the Waynesville Public Art Commission is to engage the community and enrich public spaces through original art that celebrates Waynesville's unique historic, cultural, natural and human resources.

REGULAR MEETING TOWN OF WAYNESVILLE PUBLIC ART COMMISSION 5:30 P.M. THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2008

MEMBERS PRESENT: MIKE GILLESPIE, PHILAN MEDFORD, MARILYN SULLIVAN, KAAREN STONER, SARAH KUCHARSKI, CHRIS SYLVESTER, NORETTA TAYLOR, KAREN KAUFMAN

Chairman Mike Gillespie called the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF JANUARY 10 REGULAR MEETING Sarah Kucharski moves that the minutes be approved, Kaaren Stoner seconds. The minutes are unanimously approved.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF JANUARY 29 AND JANUARY 31 SPECIAL MEETINGS

Noretta Taylor moves that the minutes be approved, Philan Medford seconds. The minutes are unanimously approved.

TASK FORCES

PROJECTS - Marilyn Sullivan refers the commission to documents created, reviewed and revised in October 2007 covering various aspects of our guidelines and policies which have also been reviewed and approved by Fred Baker. The specific items covered are a general Public Art Policy, Exhibition Procedures and Policies, Gifts Review Policy and a Review Criteria.

Sarah Kucharski moves that the commission approve these documents as our policy. Philan Medford seconds. The motion is unanimously approved.

Three additional items on policy have recently been sent to commission members. These cover Conflict of Interest, Art Project Implementation and Re-siting/De-accessioning. Marilyn asked that commission members review these and provide their comments for changes or additions so that an acceptable version of each can be voted on at a future meeting.

ARTIST RELATIONS – Kaaren Stoner referred the members to the February 18 Review Committee recommendations for artist finalists. The three artists are: Harry McDaniel, Vadim Bora and Stefan Bonitz.

Philan Medford made a motion that the Commission accepts these three as the finalists for our Old Time Music project. Karen Kaufman seconded. The motion was approved unanimously.

Next the members reviewed the letters to be mailed to the finalists, the applicants/non-finalists and the invitation to present. The invitation has been approved by the town attorney. After discussion, it was agreed that 45 minutes per artist presentation was sufficient. We also discussed when the honorarium check would be sent and when the invitation should be returned. It was agreed that the \$500 honorarium would be sent upon receipt of the signed invitation which would be due February 29, 2008.

Kaaren Stoner made a motion that we accept the letters and invitation to present as agreed. Chris Sylvester seconds. The motion is unanimously approved.

Noretta Taylor suggested that we have an opinion sheet/questionnaire for each participant on the Advisory Panel. They would be asked to complete this after each artist presentation. This way we have a document we can refer to and it will provide input that might not be expressed verbally. We agreed this was a good idea and should be part of the process.

We next discussed the Advisory Panel and reviewed the list of community members who are potential participants. Additions and deletions were made to the list then each Commission member selected names to contact. Mike Gillespie suggested that art teachers at the schools be contacted for suggestions on student participants. He will handle this contact. It was agreed that we would report on the calls made at the regular March meeting. Noretta Taylor agreed to write a letter of invitation to the Town Board of Aldermen asking their participation.

It was agreed that we would finalize the Advisory Panel Information Packages at the March meeting and that they would be mailed to the confirmed participants on April 16, 2008.

COMMUNITY RELATIONS - Chris Sylvester referred the members to the minutes of a recent Task Force meeting. The only outstanding question concerned checks being processed by the town. Kaaren Stoner agreed to email Eddy Caldwell tomorrow to verify the process and insure WPAC will be credited for funds received.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Regarding the need for a new member of the Commission, Philan Medford suggested we make contact with Kevin Murphy again to determine if there is still interest. Noretta Taylor agreed to talk to him. We discussed the possibility of having Gavin Brown or Libba Feichter offer suggestions for possible members. Mike said he would email them about this.

The question was raised about having a speaker from the Town at the May fundraiser. We agreed this would be good but no further action was taken at this time.

We discussed the need for lining up our musical group for the fundraiser soon as some are already booked. Chris Sylvester is to call one potential musician. Noretta Taylor said

that the JAM (student musicians) would be available for the April 3 meeting with Jeffrey York but that they could not do the May 29 date.

A budget for 2008 must be submitted by March 1. We discussed what components should be included in our budget, how much detail was needed, what format, etc. We concluded that this could be handled via email with everyone offering their input and once consolidated, we would hold a special meeting to vote on the matter. Kaaren Stoner agreed to ask Eddy Caldwell for advice on content and format. We agreed that Monday, February 25 at 5:30 would be the meeting in which to vote. Marilyn Sullivan will contact Phyllis McClure to schedule the room and ask that the notice be posted.

NEW BUSINESS

Kaaren Stoner presented a Treasurer's report showing sources and uses of funds to date.

Although we know there is a special account set up for WPAC, Kaaren indicated that this number did not appear on the three receipts she has received so far.

ADJOURNMENT

Sarah Kucharski moves that we adjourn. Kaaren Stoner seconds. The motion was unanimously approved. Meeting adjourns at 7:10 P.M.

NEXT MEETING

The next special meeting will be held at 5:30 P.M. February 25, 2008. The next regular meeting will be held at 5:30 P.M. March 13, 2008.

Chairman, Mike Gillespie		
, 1		
Secretary, Marilyn Sullivan		